Elite and U23 – The Danish Anders Foldager in the 29th Memorial Polese

Also read

SANTA MARIA DEL PIAVE (TV) – It is that of the Danish Anders Foldager the author’s signature in the golden register of the Polese Trophy, the national cycling classic for Elite and Under 23 now in its 29th edition. The 21-year-old from Biesse Carrera, last year’s intern for Team BikeExchange-Jayco and 30th three days ago at the Laigueglia Trophy, confirmed his qualities by winning the narrow sprint that decided the race organized by N.T. Cycling, ahead of Alberto Bruttomesso (Cycling Team Friuli) and Kevin Bonaldo (Work Service Group Vitalcare).

Unlike what happened twelve months ago, when Nicolas Gomez prevailed at the end of a compact ranked sprint, this year the script of the race was overturned by the inclusion of a 3000-metre stretch of dirt roads, which the peloton covered three times, the last of which about fifty kilometers from the finish.

And it was on the Treviso gravel, under the eyes of technical commissioner Marino Amadori, that the race exploded. 27 riders escaped from the group, 193 strong at the start; among them top athletes such as Matteo Zurlo (Trevigiani Energiapura Marchiol), Luca Cretti (Colpack Ballan CSB), Manlio Moro (Zalf Euromobil Desiree Fior) and Tommaso Nencini (Hopplà Petroli Firenze Don Camillo), just to mention the athletes who have already scored in the 2022 season. Alberto Bruttomesso (Cycling Team Friuli) also joined the breakaway, winner a week ago at Misano and one of the reference fast wheels of the group, escorted by three other men from the Friulian formation, including the generous Davide De Cassan , one of the most active in promoting escape.

Also for this reason, what remained of the group had no chance to make up for the delay of 1′ and 25″. Success therefore became a private matter among the 27 fugitives, who appeared stretched out on the final straight and lined up by Foldager’s powerful stretch.

Robert Amaglio


1 FOLDAGER Anders (Dan) Biesse Carrera, km 154 in 3:36:46, average/h 42.63
2 UGLY Alberto Cycling Team Friuli
3 BONALDO Kevin Work Service Group Vitalcare
4 NENCINI Tommaso Hopplà Petroli Florence Don Camillo
5 MORO Manlio Zalf Euromobil Desiree Fior
6 CATALDO Lorenzo Gragnano Sporting Club
7 DE PRETTO Davide Zalf Euromobil Desiree Fior
8 MOSCOW Raffaele Q36.5 Continental Team
9 CRETTI Luca Colpack Ballan CSB
10 ZURLO Matteo Trevigiani Energiapura Marchiol

don't miss

Related news